ESTARL Scholarship

Eastern Star Training Awards for Religious Leadership

The ESTARL program, is an Official program of the Grand Chapter of South Dakota, Order of the Eastern Star to provide monetary help for eligible religious recipients in South Dakota.
Funding for the ESTARL program has been made possible through donations from the Eastern Star Chapters and members across South Dakota. Additional donations from Individuals or Organizations wishing to help us with this very worthy project are greatly appreciated and will enable us to assist a greater number of applicants.

The awards are to be made to applicants preparing for leadership in various fields of religious services, such as:

* Ministers

* Missionaries

* Directors of Church Music

* Directors of Religious Education

* Counselors of Youth Leadership

The Awards may be variable in amount determined by funds available, number of applicants, and need of the individual.

Awards are to be made for one year, subject to renewal on the basis of total record.

Funds are issued directly to the accredited school of your choice, with instruction for use while recipient is pursuing studies in preparation for full-time religious service.

Applicant Elegibility

Full Elegibility Requirements will be sent out by the Chairman
Recipients for Awards will be chosen according to applicable rules
At least three (3) character references are suggested from any of the following areas: Ministers, Church Leaders, an official endorsement of religious group in the organized body in which the applicant wishes to serve or from the accredited school i which the appicant is currently enrolled.
An applicant need not be of Masonic or Eastern Star affiliation
Full academic record of applicant must be furnished with the application to the committee.
The Order of the Eastern Star does not discriminate in granting these Awards on the basis of age, race, color, national or ethnic orgin or religious belief in the administration of its scholarship program.

If you are interested in an application please click here to download the form and when completed please return it to the chairman of the committee listed below.


Patty Sperry, PM
798 N. Lake Drive
Watertown, SD  577201

Grace Bick, PM
916 E. Clark
Vermillion, SD 57069

John McKnight, PP
2202 Birch Ave
Rapid City, SD 5701